Ancestry Adventures

My Bookcases/Library

Hello there,

After a post in one of the Facebook groups I’m in (Genealogy Addicts UK & Worldwide), the post being

[ I am sure most of us here get a FH magazine each month. We read the articles and see websites that are useful now or in the future. How do you remember them all. There must be thousands out there. how do you record them for future use? ]

I initially posted “Create a library!!” … with an afterthought of ….”I’ll take & post some some photos”, then though I would blog what I was going to post.

Shelf 1 – Is all my fiction & story books. Shelf 2 – Is Political & Activism. (No photo of Shelves 1 & 2)

Shelves 3 & 4 of my big bookcase

dscf1829

 
Shelf 5 – Is mostly dog & garden books, with a small section of mixed books. (No photo, too tricky to get to)

Then I have 2 little bookcases on top of each other, this is the upper little bookcase. WDYTYA Mags on bottom shelf of upper little bookcase. The lower one is children’s books & arts & crafts.

More books in the ‘cubbyhole thing’ on top of the little bookcases. Next to them are folders/files of GRO BMD Certificates (one for each of my grandparents).

dscf1830

All my Pen & Sword books, along with loads other of useful books & booklets (British India, The Workhouse, Surnames, Writing your Family History etc)
 
dscf1833

Loads of boxes full of magazines (Your Family Tree/History, Family Tree & TNA “Ancestors”) Bigger folders/files – photocopies of documents – BMD certs, Censuses, Military, Passenger lists etc (again one for each of my grandparents)

The folder/file on the smaller pile of boxes are GRO BMD Certificates for “BSO” trees I started doing. Top box has 3-4 packs of acid-free pocket files (you can get them from WH Smith if your in the UK)

dscf1831

FHS Booklets (Hampshire, Devon & Berkshire)

dscf1835

Last photo is a table full of magazine articles, I’ve yet to finish sorting. I also have a small filing cabinet full ancestry related stuff.

dscf1836

And finally 3-4 piles of mixed books on the floor, one of the piles you can see in one of the above photos.

That’s all I have for now, so till next time, stay tuned for some more Ancestry Adventures!

Single Post Navigation

Comments are welcome

