Ancestry Adventures

Surname Studies

Hello there,

Have been pondering on doing a one name study (ONS) for a while, but wasn’t sure about committing myself  in doing one. Also was difficult trying to decide which surname to do. (see below for the process steps)

But I have finally decided and going with TWO surnames!, one for each side of my family. The two surnames I picked are Whitnall (my mothers side) & Merriman (my dads side)

Have now registered both the surnames with Guild of One-Name Studies & the Surname Society

The process
– Making a surname shortlist
– Seeing where the clusters were (in my personal family tree)
– Sussing out surname stats, for this I looked at the “Surnames of England and Wales” website as well as the “forebears” website

– Sussing out scale of what would be involved (looking at Ancestry, Find my Past, Familysearch etc

– Til finally I go “mad” and just dive in

Oh nearly forgot to mention, I ordered the Guild’s book “Seven Pillars of Wisdom” The art of One Name Studies.

So just waiting till I hear back from the Guild, meanwhile I’m going make a start!

That’s all I have for now, so till next time, stay tuned for some more Ancestry Adventures!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “Surname Studies

  1. debbiekennett on said:

    Welcome to the Guild! I see you’ve already been hard at work getting your Guild profiles set up. Do ask in our Facebook group or on our mailing list if you have any questions.

    Like

Comments are welcome

