Ancestry Adventures

My Brum Diary – day 1

Hello there,

Today (6th April 2015) i am off on a n exciting adventure! I am off to Birmingham for the WDYTYA event at the NEC.

Left the house just before 12pm, had a few bits I still to do in town, then went to get some food for the trip and evening, then on to the station and buy my tickets.

Were a quite a few train spotters milling about, as I waited for my trian. Got off at Winchester for another train.

While I waited in Winchester, I had a bit of a picnic, which was
– Salmon & Soft Cheese Sandwich
– Orange Juice
– Apple Pieces (snack bag)
– Chocolate Biscuit

DSCF1444

I think from about Oxford, I took a number of “scenic” come “selfie” shots, what they’ll turn out like I don’t know! hahaha.

DSCF1445 DSCF1446 DSCF1448 DSCF1449

 

At Lemington Spa took a photo of a lovely old Church (which at the time I didn’t know if it would come out ok) so hoped to get a better photo of it on the way back home.

DSCF1452 DSCF1699

(The first one was on the way to Brum and the second was on my way home from Brum)

 

Finally I arrive in Birmingham, is about 5pm now.

DSCF1453

Where I have a bit of a big hiccup EEK!. Both my rucksacks fell off my Rollater DOUBLE EEK!!, I thought they were gonna fall under the train TRIPLE EEK!!!, but train step sort of ‘buffered’ my bags & the chap helping me get off quickly grabbed them up and put back on the Rollater PHEW!. So that was a bit scary!

Got to the hostel, started to go in, stopped & went out again, as was slightly puzzled as to if I was at the right hostel or not, the woman on the desk but over to help me.  So went in again, booked in and up to my room (on the 1st floor) by way of the lift.

DSCF1694 DSCF1695

Sorted stuff out for first day of WDYTYA event. The folder I’m going to focus on is my maternal Grandmother (Verna Terry)

Had my evening picnic, which was
– Ham & Cheese Sandwich
– Orange Juice
– Apple Pieces (snack bag)
– Chocolate Biscuit

DSCF1456

Feeling quite tired now, so am away to bed

That’s all I have for now, so till next time, stay tuned for some more Ancestry Adventures!

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “My Brum Diary – day 1

  1. Pingback: Birmingham Adventure Index | Ancestry Adventures

Comments are welcome

