Ancestry Adventures

Census Sunday

Hello there,

For todays Blog Prompt we’ll be looking at the Census.

The Census I’m highlighting for ‘Census Sunday’ is the 1911 Census England

I think for me the 1911 Census data set is a favourite, the way Ancestry has done this data set, is more interactive. you can scroll up & down or from side to side and you still get to see who and what you’re looking at.

Here is what I mean, the top section is before I scrolled and the bottom is after.
Baldwin 1911 Census

I’ve also picked out just a few of the more ‘unusual’ occupations in 1911 Census within my tree.

The above image is also an example of some ‘unusual’ occupations. Joseph Baldwin is working as a Woodman and his relationship to me is 2nd great grand uncle. Joseph’s son Frank is working as a Gamekeeper, relationship to me is 1st cousin 3x removed

Heres a couple more

William Alfred Worland is working in the Leather Trade as a bag maker. William Alfred Worland’s relationship to me is 1st cousin 3x removed

1911 England Census 7

William Waterman is working as a Letter Press Printer. William Waterman’s relationship to me is 2nd great grand uncle

1911 England Census 8

That’s all I have for now, so till next time, stay tuned for some more Ancestry Adventures!

Single Post Navigation

Comments are welcome

